

Legislative Study Group on Educator Licensure Minutes

Tuesday, October 25, 2016 1:00 p.m. Room 10 – State Office Building

Members Present:

Co-Chair: Representative Sondra Erickson Co-Chair: Senator Charles Wiger Representative Drew Christensen Senator Greg Clausen Senator Kevin Dahle Senator Gary Dahms Representative Jim Davnie Senator Karin Housley Representative Jenifer Loon Senator Eric Pratt Representative Barb Yarusso

Members Excused:

Representative Carlos Mariani

Call to Order by Rep. Erickson at 1:05 p.m.

Motion to approve Minutes of the September 29th meeting made by Rep. Loon. **Motion** prevails.

Governance and tiered licensure proposals presented by:

- Bjorn Arneson Joint House and Senate DFL Proposal on Tiered Licensure framework
- Tim Strom Comparison of Tiered Licensure Proposals with House/Senate DFL Modifications

Stakeholders that provided testimony:

- Cyndy Crist, Minnesota Association of Colleges for Teacher Education
- Kathi Micheletti, Education Minnesota
- Sara Ford, Education Minnesota
- Joshua Crosson, Education Allies
- Ryan Stromberg, Spring Lake Park Public Schools
- Adosh Uni, Minnesota Department of Education
- Erin Doan, Board of Teaching

The meeting was adjourned at 2:40 p.m.

The next meeting will be held November 16th at 9:00 a.m. in Room 1200 of the Minnesota Senate Building.